The mangroves with Suraj

Hidden beauties of the island and makes us aware of the importance to protect nature.

_MMM2760 copy_Easy-Resize.com

Today, Suraj, one of Attitude’s hotels Green Ambassadors is our guide. With him we are going to discover a totally unsuspected world. We aim towards Anse la Raie on the North coast of Mauritius, close to the fishermen’s village of Cap Malheureux, well-known for its red roof church!

Suraj takes us to his secret garden: the mangroves. Well-rooted in swampy ground, these plants, thanks to their roots, prevent coastal erosion and dampening action of waves, high tides and cyclones on coastline. They provide habitats for oysters, crabs, shrimps juvenile fish and a number of marine organisms.

_MMM2716 copy_Easy-Resize.com

Suraj looks amorously at the rows of tiny soft green leaves resembling elegant ladies, holding high their skirts and dipping their delicate toes in the water!

It is warm and we are lulled by the tapping of the water beneath the soft music of the waves. Suraj watches the sea with respect, the sea is his whole life and has been generous to him and his family for many generations. Suraj, after a training with NGO Reef Conservation, has become a Green Ambassador. He shares his passion and knowledge with his colleagues as well as Attitude’s guests. He unveils the hidden beauties of the island and makes them aware of the importance to protect nature. In a few days, he will be back in his mangroves with the same message and invitation to others… allow nature to breathe, do not spoil it…

find out more...

Green attitude

Blogger's posts

Plan your trip

Enjoy Maurice!

Come and enjoy the cultural diversity of the island, the scenic beauties, some memorable experiences and so much more…

Dans les mangroves avec Suraj

De petites plantes bien enracinées dans leur fond vaseux sortent la tête de l’eau ; on les appelle aussi palétuviers.

_MMM2760 copy_Easy-Resize.com

Aujourd’hui, Suraj, l’un des Green Ambassadors des hôtels Attitude, est notre guide. On embarque avec lui pour découvrir à nos pieds un univers insoupçonné. Direction Anse la Raie, sur la côte nord de l’île Maurice, non loin du village de pêcheurs de Cap Malheureux (là où se la célèbre chapelle au toit rouge !)

Suraj nous emmène dans son jardin secret : les mangroves. De petites plantes bien enracinées dans leur fond vaseux sortent la tête de l’eau ; on les appelle aussi palétuviers. Grace à leurs racines, les mangroves empêchent l’érosion et protègent le littoral contre les vagues, les fortes marées ou les cyclones. Les mangroves sont aussi l’abri de nombreuses créatures (petits poissons, huitres, coquillages…).

_MMM2716 copy_Easy-Resize.com

Suraj couve du regard ses petits trésors. Ces rangées de feuilles vert tendre donnent l’impression de demoiselles délicates qui retroussent leurs jupes pour tremper leurs longs orteils dans l’eau.

L’air est chaud, on est vite bercé par le clapotis de l’eau. Suraj regarde avec respect la mer qui danse devant ses yeux. La mer, c’est toute sa vie. Un gagne-pain depuis des générations. Après sa formation avec l’ONG Reef Conservation, il est devenu Green Ambassador : il partage sa passion et ses connaissances avec ses collègues et les touristes. Il leur montre les beautés parfois cachées de l’île et les sensibilise à l’importance de les préserver. D’ici quelques jours, il reviendra dans ces mangroves… Il transmettra le même message à ceux qui l’accompagneront. Comme une invitation à simplement laisser vivre cette nature.

À lire aussi...

Green attitude

Retrouvez les articles de nos amis bloggeurs

Préparez votre voyage

Enjoy Maurice!

Venez profiter de la richesse culturelle, de la beauté des paysages, d’une expérience inoubliable et bien plus encore…