Viewpoint

Gris-Gris: The crying rock

Souillac, the village, the old railway station, the Balfour Garden…a friendly narrow street leading to Gris-Gris.

20160302_140952_resized_1

Souillac, the village, the old railway station, the Balfour Garden… a friendly narrow street leading to Gris-Gris. On one side of the road, more sophisticated bungalows although some seem to have been standing there forever… Among them a famous one, still open to the public : the home of the well-known Mauritian poet, Robert Edward Hart. Today it is a modest museum. On the other side, humble homes but so typical and warm.

A few meters away, the parking lot where dholl puri, chilly bites and ice cream vendors are busy… what a sight ! A real experience !

Nicely nestled between the Gris-Gris and La Roche qui Pleure cliffs, a lovely sandy creek surrounded by a lush green vegetation between filaos trees and veloutiers. A shallow clear, green and crystalline lagoon protected by a wide coral reef, what a contrast of colors! La Roche qui Pleure could translate as the “crying rock”… when watching and listening to the waves breaking against its sides, we do have the impression that the cliff is crying !

Sitting on the grass at the top of the cliff, you can breathe deeply that salty ocean air brought by that gentle breeze coming straight from the South Pole. Here, we all feel we could be great poets! This is without doubt, where Robert Edward Hart drew his inspiration for : « Méditation du bienheureux Pierre” (1931)…When doubting, the latter asked the Indian wise man Ananda: “Where should I flee?” the answer is sharp, biting and crystal clear: “Nowhere. Stay here. Gods look after this island as one of the last places in the world where man will be able to live in harmony with nature, to keep his sense of inner freedom, of light and beauty contributing to its elevation”

Back to the car and about to start, a knock on the window, a friendly guy looking for a little financial help… hundred rupees or fifty could do! Sadly enough, he has run out of petrol right at La Roche qui Pleure! Enough to make the rock cry!

Before heading back, a stop at Rosy, The Gris-Gris Restaurant. Typical Mauritian cuisine and reasonable prices.

20160814_150121_Easy-Resize.com

find out more...

Beach

Belle Mare

Belle mare, stretching for several kilometers is one of the most beautiful beaches around the island and still reasonably wild.

Read
Historical

La Citadelle

Fort Adelaide, also known as “La Citadelle”, and was built to fulfilled the purpose of guarding the harbor against…

Read
Viewpoint

Signal Hill

From the top of Signal Hill, in old days, the authorities used to control the arrival and departure of the vessels…

Read

Green attitude

Blogger's posts

Plan your trip

Enjoy Maurice!

Come and enjoy the cultural diversity of the island, the scenic beauties, some memorable experiences and so much more…

Panorama

Gris-Gris : La roche qui pleure

Le village de Souillac, la gare d’antan, le Jardin Balfour…une ruelle sympathique qui mène au Gris-Gris.

Copy of Gris Gris_Easy-Resize.com

Le village de Souillac, la gare d’antan mais aussi le Jardin Balfour forment un chemin sympathique qui mène au Gris-Gris. D’un côté, les campements dont certains semblent avoir traversé la nuit des temps mais restent toujours vaillamment debout. Il y en a un surtout qui est bien en évidence et encore accessible au public : la demeure du célèbre poète mauricien Robert Edward Hart, devenue aujourd’hui un musée. De l’autre côté des cases et habitations plus humbles mais réellement typiques et chaleureuses.

À quelques pas, le parking où s’affairent les marchands de dholl puri, de gato pimans et de glaces… quel tableau ! Prise entre la falaise du Gris-Gris et de celle de la Roche qui Pleure, on tombe sur une jolie petite crique de plage de sable blond entourée d’une nature verdoyante entre filaos et veloutiers. Un lagon peu profond protégé par une large barrière de corail offre une eau transparente et cristalline, quel contraste de couleurs !

Qu’est ce qu’on est bien assis sur l’herbe, respirant à plein poumons cet air iodé venant du Pôle Sud! On se sent l’âme d’un poète! C’est sans doute ici que Robert Edward Hart a puisé son inspiration : « Meditation du bienheureux Pierre (1931). Lorsque ce dernier, dans un moment de doute, demande au sage indien Ananda : « ou fuir ? »,  la réponse est cinglante : nulle part. Demeure ici. Des dieux propices veillent sur cette île, un des derniers lieux du monde ou l’homme puisse garder le sens de la nature et de la liberté intérieure, de la lumière, de la beauté, de l’élévation en soi même ».

Retour à la voiture. Au moment de démarrer, un gaillard plutôt sympathique cogne à la vitre, il est en quête d’une petite aide financière pour aller chercher de l’essence, sa voiture est en panne à la Roche qui Pleure, une avancée rocheuse à l’extrémité de laquelle les vagues s’engouffrent dans une faille pour faire pleurer la roche… quelle triste panne !

Arrêt chez Rosy, le Gris-Gris Restaurant, à quelques mètres du parking. Cuisine typiquement mauricienne et prix très raisonnables.

20160814_150121_Easy-Resize.com

À lire aussi...

Ville et village

Bienheureux Cap Malheureux

À Cap Malheureux, il y fait quand même bon vivre… Estivants et villageois y sont bienheureux ! Découvrez l'histoire…

Lire
Plage

Belle Mare

Plein Est, face au soleil levant, l’une des plus jolies et longues plages de l’île-Maurice.

Lire
Historique

La Citadelle

Point stratégique pour surveiller l’entrée du port et protéger la ville contre les attaques ennemies et les…

Lire
Panorama

Coin de Mire

A mi-chemin, une famille de dauphins nous gratifie d’une démonstration de ballets nautiques.

Lire
Panorama

Montagne des signaux

Rendez-vous à côté du monument Marie Reine de la Paix, point de départ pour une randonnée. Tout comme la Citadelle,…

Lire

Green attitude

Retrouvez les articles de nos amis bloggeurs

Préparez votre voyage

Enjoy Maurice!

Venez profiter de la richesse culturelle, de la beauté des paysages, d’une expérience inoubliable et bien plus encore…